Council of Graduate Departments of Psychology
Council of Graduate Departments of Psychology


We are pleased to announce that this is the nineteenth year of the American Psychological Foundation (APF/Council of Graduate Departments of Psychology (COGDOP) Graduate Research Scholarship in Psychology program.  Several scholarships will be awarded in 2015, including the $5,000 Harry and Miriam Levinson Scholarship, the $5,000 William and Dorothy Bevan Scholarship, the $3,000 Ruth G. And Joseph D. Matarazzo Scholarship, the $2,000 Clarence J. Rosecrans Scholarship, the $1,000 William C. Howell Scholarship, and a number of additional $1,000 scholarships.  All of these scholarships represent APF's continuing commitment to advancing the science and the practice of psychology for the understanding of behavior and the benefit of human welfare.

The scholarships will be given directly to individual students enrolled in a doctoral program or interim master's program (student is completing the master's along the way to the doctorate).  If a student is currently enrolled in a terminal master's program, the student must intend to enroll in a PhD program the following academic year.  Students in any stage of graduate study are encouraged to apply. 

The purpose of the scholarship program is to assist graduate students of psychology with research costs associated with the master's thesis or doctoral dissertation.  The primary focus of the review criteria will be related to the research proposal (see the Review Criteria section of the flyer below for further information).  Please refer to the below flyer for details outlining the application process.  The American Psychological Assocation (APA) Science Directorate administers the granting of the applications.

We look forward to receiving nominations from your department.  Should you have any questions, please contact staff in the APA Science Directorate at 202.336.6000202.336.6000 or  More information can be found at the award website,

Please note: Nominees must be enrolled in the graduate program at the time the grants are awarded (in the fall of 2015)

APF/COGDOP Scholarship Application - 2015 (pdf) 194.46Kb

APF/COGDOP Scholarship Application - 2015 (Word) 49.74Kb